Awards and Recognition

NCCDA Awards Descriptions | 2019 – 2020


The New Professional Award recognizes an individual in North Carolina who has made a significant contribution to career development and has been in the profession for 5 years or less. The recipient would be an individual who in their early years of practice has shown unusual skill and promise of outstanding future accomplishments and has demonstrated evidence of meritorious service to the career development profession and/or NCCDA.


The Roy N. Anderson Award recognizes an individual in North Carolina who has made an outstanding contribution to career development, both in the state and at the regional or national levels over an extended period of time. This award, affectionately known as “The Roy”, is named for the founding professor of the North Carolina State University Counselor Education Program.

New for 2019-2020:


  • Recognizes a mid-level professional (5+ years in the profession) OR
  • Recognizes an innovative program, initiative, or intervention
  • Consistently and significantly contributes to the career profession through service, practice, mentorship, etc.

The Outstanding Professional or Program Award recognizes either a mid-level professional or a new program. The outstanding professional award recognizes individuals with 5+ years in the profession who consistently and significantly contributes to the career development profession through dedicated service to their clients or students, mentorship and support for fellow career professionals, and a personal commitment to staying current with new research and best practices in the field. The outstanding program award recognizes an innovative program, initiative, or intervention that has a clear purpose and demonstrated impact related to career development. Programs may be the work of a single individual, an office or team, or a collaborative effort across key stakeholders across a community. If a team or office is nominated, at least one member must be an active member of NCCDA.

Award Nomination Form

Questions? Contact a member of the Professional Recognition & Awards Committee:

Courtney Gauthier:
Jane Matthews:
Angie Smith:

Previous New Professional Award Winners

2017 – Sheena Jacobs, Assistant Director and Office of Diversity and Inclusion Liaison, University Career Services, UNC-Chapel Hill

2015 – Heidi Robinson

2014 – Amanda Fontenot

2013 – Linda Pollock

2011 – Ross Wade

2010 – Samara Reynolds

2008 – Amy Losordo

2007 – Emily Strader

2006 – Angie Smith

2005 – Donna Y. Hembrick

2004 – Dana Sumner

Previous Roy N. Anderson Award Winners

2017 – Dana Sumner, Director, Office of Career Planning, Meredith College

2015 – Angie Smith

2014 – Laura Lane

2013 – Rhonda Kosusko

2011 – Pam Brumbaugh

2010 – Steve Mullinix

2009 – Marie Sumerel

2008 – Sam Leonard Beck

2007 – Sarah Moore Brookshire

2006 – Doris Conn

2005 – Barbara Efird

2004 – Sondra VanSant

2003 – Cathy Annas

2001 – Gordon Folger